The one time I met a prince

I had just gotten out of the pool when I realized today was the 18th. I was supposed to attend an interview with a prince.

I hear his voice on the loud speaker. He speaks slowly and calmly, indicative of a non-native English speaker. He has no accent.

In two hours I sit in front of him. Gripping my hat in my hands. I’m supposed to do this in French but I can’t even speak English right now.

He requests the interview in English. My insides tighten.

Everybody asks him a question but me. I just sit there and regard the situation. It’s so surreal.

“One last question please.” Of course its the most profound.

We stand up to take a photo. Being small, I stand beside him.

“Thank you sir, for amnesty.” My voice shakes.

He laughs heartily.

“All these formal questions and here you are!”

I look at my feet. Sometimes I wonder why I suffer from crippling social anxiety and shyness.

I tell my Spanish friend this and he says:

“All my Spanish friends like you! You are the nicest person.”

“I’ve never talked to them.” I look at my feet again.

“You don’t need to talk to anyone to know that they are kind.” 

I turn red. Social anxiety is creeping back. I hold it at the back of my throat and force a smile.

“Thank you.” 

Leave a comment